We do this trike tour for disability passenger a couple of times per year. Hugh loves it so much his carers organise it with us.
These rides are great for people with a disability. For instance, feeling the breeze, hearing the motor and just feeling the whole experiencing is wonderful for them. David picked Hugh and his carer up from their home in the southern suburbs of Sydney.
Tom Uglys Bridge
Firstly they rode over Tom Uglys Bridge. This spans the Georges River and gives a great view of the waterway. Tom Uglys Bridge is composed of two bridges, completed in 1929 and 1987. It is a truss bridge, 500m in length.
In addition, they rode to Cronulla Beach. It’s a lovely ride along the coastline. Cronulla has numerous surf beaches and swimming spots, the suburb attracts both tourists and Greater Sydney residents. Cronulla is located 26 kilometres south of the CBD. The trike tour for disability passenger was going very well at this point.
They stopped at a cafe for a stretch and a coffee. However, the hour was up way too quickly so David rode them back through the southern suburbs, over Tom Uglys Bridge and back to their home.
In conclusion, Hugh loved the trike tour for disability passenger just as much as he loved his first ride and all rides in between. Each ride took them on a different loop of the south eastern suburbs. Half the time it is just as much the fun of the experience than what the sights actually are. Above all, it is safe and our riders are all professional and experienced.
Tom Uglys Bridge – history of the name
I was wondering how a bridge could end up with such a strange name. Apparently, Tom Uglys Bridge took its name from the geographical feature at the northern end of the bridge, known as Tom Uglys Point. The point was known as Tom Uglys Point over 80 years prior to the construction of the bridge. At various times the bridge is incorrectly transcribed as Tom Ugly’s Bridge – no apostrophe needed.
However, there are several theories about the origin of the name of the point.
- One is that it was named after a local resident Tom Huxley and the name was a mispronunciation by local Aboriginal people. Descendants of Thomas Huxley have concluded that he lived and owned land in the area but official records do not exist to verify this.
- Another theory is that it was derived from the name of a local Aboriginal man, Tow-weiry, who lived in the area and died about 1846.
- A third theory is that there was a local fisherman resident in the area by the name of Tom Illigley.
- Yet another is that there was a one-legged man, possibly an army deserter or a boat operator, called either “Tom Woggleg” or “Wogul Leg Tom”, either because of a mispronunciation of wooden leg, or from the local Aboriginal dialect word for “one”.
The name was officially adopted to distinguish between the various subsequent bridges across Georges River, after the opening of the Captain Cook Bridge in 1965 and the Alfords Point Bridge in 1973. Tom Uglys Bridge are actually two road bridges, completed in 1929 and 1987.